Lab-Center for Competitiveness

The Lab-Center for Competitiveness has emerged from the affiliation that Grenoble Ecole de Management has developed since 2009, with the Institute for Strategy & Competitiveness, at Harvard Business School, through the Microeconomics of Competitiveness Program (MOC) originally developed by Professor Michael E. Porter.


Its mission is to analyze and promote the determinants of competitiveness and economic development viewed from a bottom up, microeconomic perspective, which represents the dimension where wealth is ultimately created. The Lab-Center is part of the Institutes Council of the MOC Program, comprised by over 40 affiliated competitiveness centers, worldwide.

It operates both research-driven activities and a pedagogically designed course platform which will be made available for the students of Grenoble Ecole de Management and which will be taught by Harvard affiliate faculty only. The Lab-Center is part of the Political Economy and Sustainable Competitiveness Initiative, which is one of the formal research teams at Grenoble Ecole de Management.

Research focus

The focus of our research mainstreams strategies of firms, the vitality of clusters, and quality of the business environment in which competition takes place. These factors are critical to the creation of a socio-economic agenda, which aims at the sustainability of businesses, nations and societies at large. The Lab-Center for Competitiveness studies competition and its implications for company strategy, the competitiveness of nations, regions and cities as well as the determinants of shared value in private and public sectors. TheLab-Center develops agendas for applied research, through the production of case studies, as part of its intellectual contribution to the field.

About the Institute for Strategy and Competitiveness at Harvard.

The Lab-Center for Competitiveness at Grenoble Ecole de Management is an Affiliate Center of the Institute for Strategy and Competitiveness, at Harvard. Based at Harvard Business School, the Institute is the world leading platform, dedicated to extending the research pioneered by Prof. Porter and disseminating it to scholars and practitioners worldwide.

Contact information

The Lab-Center is led by Dr. Mark Esposito, who serves as Professor of Business & Economics at Grenoble Ecole de Management as well as member of the teaching faculty at Harvard University Extension. He is member of the faculty of the Microeconomics of Competitiveness Curriculum developed by the Institute for Strategy and Competitiveness at Harvard Business School, as well as Co-Leader of the Institute Council of the MOC Program. His profile at Harvard can be found here.

Lab-Center for Competitiveness

Le Lab-Center for Competitiveness est issu de la coopération engagée depuis 2009 par Grenoble Ecole de Management avec l'Institute for Strategy & Competitiveness à Harvard Business School, dans le cadre du Programme Microéconomique de la Compétitivité (Microeconomics of Competitiveness Program - MOC) développé par le Professeur Michael E. Porter.


La mission du Lab-Center est d'analyser et de promouvoir les facteurs déterminants de la compétitivité et du développement économique, en observant plus particulièrement ses dimensions ascendantes et microéconomiques, réellement créatrices de richesse. Il fait partie du Conseil des Instituts du programme MOC, qui compte plus de 40 centres de compétitivité affiliés à travers le monde.

Le Lab-Center conduit des activités axées sur la recherche ainsi que sur la pédagogie, notamment une plateforme de cours qui sera accessible aux étudiants de Grenoble Ecole de Management et dont les enseignements seront dispensés exclusivement par des professeurs affiliés à Harvard. Le Lab-Center est rattaché à une des équipes de recherche de Grenoble Ecole de Management : l'initiative Economie Politique et Compétitivité Durable.

Thèmes de recherche

Nos recherches se concentrent sur la stratégie des entreprises, le dynamisme des clusters, et la qualité de l'environnement d'affaire dans lequel la concurrence se joue. Ce sont des facteurs clé pour la mise en place d'un programme socio-économique visant à la pérennité des affaires, des nations et des sociétés au sens large. Le Lab-Center for Competitiveness étudie la concurrence et son impact sur la stratégie de l'entreprise, la compétitivité des nations, des régions et des villes, ainsi que les déterminants des valeurs partagées entre le secteur privé et le secteur public. Ce travail se fait par le biais de contributions intellectuelles dans le domaine, notamment de la recherche appliquée et la production d'études de cas.

L'institute for Strategy and Competitiveness à Harvard

Le Lab-Center for Competitiveness de Grenoble Ecole de Management est affilié à l'Institute for Strategy and Competitiveness d'Harvard. Basé à Harvard Business School, l'Institut a pour vocation d'étendre les recherches menées par le professeur Porter et de les disséminer auprès des universitaires et des praticiens à travers le monde.

Contact information

Le Lab-Center est dirigé par Dr. Mark Esposito, professeur en commerce et en économie à Grenoble Ecole de Management, et enseignant à Harvard University Extension. Il est membre du corps enseignant du Cursus Microéconomique de la Compétitivité (Microeconomics of Competitiveness Curriculum) développé par l'Institute for Strategy and Competitiveness à Harvard Business School, ainsi que co-directeur du Conseil de l'Institut du programme MOC. Plus d'informations sur son profil à Harvard


Contacts
Mark Esposito