Engagement

Social Responsibility

For a better, more sustainable world

For more than 30 years, our School has worked to integrate social responsibility in its pedagogy, research and organizational culture. Our mission has always been to train responsible and innovative managers who understand the human, social, environmental and economic implications created by their decision-making power.

Training responsible managers

Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) is more than a field of study. It is a transversal skill that impacts all activities and managerial functions. As a result, all of our degree programs include training on ethics, responsible management and sustainable development.

This can be illustrated by courses which specifically target these topics (e.g. Economic Peace, Social and Solidarity Economy, or Working on Sustainable Development) as well as the overall Assurance of Learning process which was implemented in 2012 to help our degree programs integrate CSR goals.

We also participate in the Sustainability Literacy Test to encourage student self-evaluation. This study is administered to higher education students around the world in order to evaluate their basic knowledge of sustainable development issues and their responsibilities as individuals and members of an organization.

Students committed to raising awareness

Solidarity and engagement are essential principles that guide many of the actions carried out by our student associations. Whether they are invested in the local community (e.g. Impact) or the international community (e.g. SOS), the work of our student associations underlines the training and awareness that is shared during the Grenoble Ecole de Management learning process.

Expanding knowledge

The fields of CSR and sustainable development are in constant evolution. As a result, our research teams are working actively to help expand knowledge of these subjects. From understanding current practices to foreseeing future developments, Grenoble Ecole de Management research teams address the many transversal issues surrounding social responsibility. The Alternative Forms of Markets and Organizations team, the Mindfulness, Well-Being and Economic Peace Chair and the Center for Geopolitical and Governance Studies are examples of research-oriented groups that are particularly focused on these questions.  

Discover our publications

An institution committed to responsible management

Since 2007, Grenoble Ecole de Management has been a signatory of the UN Global Compact. This agreement underlines our institution's work to promote UN Principles for Responsible Management Education (PRME). The School also participates in the national work group on "Skills for Sustainable Development" led by the Conférence des Grandes Ecoles and the Conférence des Présidents d’Universités.

In concrete terms, we have implemented an important CSR strategy across our campuses. Highlights of this strategy include: our first carbon footprint benchmarking study in 2014 (Bilan Carbone ®); our participation in the Grenoble PDIE (Grenoble's plan to promote sustainable mobility practices); and the creation of a CSR charter in which we pledge to:

  • Respect the rights and dignity of every individual
  • Promote solidarity and diversity
  • Counter signs of corruption and violence
  • Reduce and control the impact of our activities on the environment
  • Contribute to business being a means to increase development, equality and peace

At the same time, we are committed to raising awareness among our employees and encouraging them to be involved in these challenges. To achieve these goals, we have set up internal training courses on topics such as "How to adopt sustainable teaching habits?", "Awareness on disabilities" or "Stress and management".

We also encourage our employees to invest in skills volunteering: Every employee may use five work days per year to share and develop their skills as part of a personal or professional volunteer project. In line with this practice, the School has collaborated with the Rhône-AlpesPro Bono Lab since 2013.

All of the actions we carry out are subject to self-evaluation, reporting and continuous improvement in accordance with the 2007 Grenelle de l'Environment and the guidelines set out in the Plan Vert (created by the CGE and the CPU). Reporting is also required as part of the EQUIS and Business Impact processes, which will soon lead to a CSR accreditation for sustainable campuses.

Engagement

Responsabilité sociale

Pour un monde meilleur et durable

Depuis plus de 30 ans, notre Ecole travaille à intégrer la Responsabilité sociale dans sa pédagogie, dans sa recherche et dans son comportement institutionnel. Nous nous sommes donnés pour mission de former des managers responsables et innovants qui prennent en compte les conséquences humaines, sociales, environnementales et économiques dans leurs processus de décision.

Former des managers responsables

Plus qu’une discipline, la responsabilité sociale d’entreprise (RSE) est une compétence transverse à tous les métiers et toutes les fonctions du manager. En ce sens, l’éthique, le management responsable et l’éducation au développement durable sont partie intégrante de toutes nos formations diplômantes.

Certains cours portent d’ailleurs directement sur ces thématiques (Paix Economique, Economies Sociales et Solidaires, Agir en Développement Durable). Plus généralement, depuis 2012, tous les programmes diplômants intègrent des objectifs d’apprentissage en RSE via le processus d’évaluation ‘Assurance of Learning’.

Pour inciter nos étudiants à s’autoévaluer dans ce domaine, nous participons au projet  ‘Sustainability Literacy Test’.  Destiné à tous les étudiants de l'enseignement supérieur du monde entier, ce questionnaire en ligne permet d’évaluer les connaissances de base en matière de développement durable et de responsabilité à la fois individuelle et organisationnelle.

Les étudiants au cœur de la sensibilisation

La solidarité et l’engagement sont au cœur des actions que les étudiants mènent au sein des associations de l’Ecole, toutes très investies auprès de communautés locales (ex. Impact) et internationales (ex. SOS). Une belle preuve que la sensibilisation dispensée au sein de nos formations porte ses fruits.

Contribuer au développement des connaissances

Parce que les notions même de RSE et de développement durable sont en constante évolution et réflexion, nous souhaitons participer activement à faire progresser les connaissances dans ce domaine. Là encore, si l’ensemble des équipes de recherche intègre ces problématiques transverses dans leurs travaux, certaines s’y consacrent pleinement à l’image de l’équipe Formes Alternatives de Marchés et d’Organisations , de la Chaire Mindfulness, Bien-Etre et Paix Economique ou encore du Centre d'Etudes en Géopolitique et Gouvernance.

Nos publications

Engager toute l’institution

Signataire du Pacte Mondial Global Compact de l’ONU depuis 2007, GEM, en tant qu’institution, promeut les Principles for Responsible Management Education (PRME) des Nations Unies. Parallèlement, l’Ecole participe activement au groupe de travail national « Compétences pour un Développement Durable » mené par la Conférence des Grandes Ecole et la Conférence des Présidents d’Universités.

Concrètement, nous avons engagé une importante démarche RSE sur notre campus qui s’est traduite par un premier Bilan Carbone® en 2014, la participation à la création du PDIE de Grenoble (promotion d’une mobilité douce et durable) et la mise en place d’une charte RSE dans laquelle nous nous engageons à :

  • Respecter les droits et la dignité de chaque individu
  • Promouvoir à la fois la solidarité et la diversité
  • S’opposer à toute forme de corruption et de violence
  • Réduire et maîtriser l’impact environnemental de nos activités
  • Contribuer à ce que le commerce soit un vecteur de développement, d’équité et de paix

Parallèlement, nous nous attachons à sensibiliser et impliquer nos salariés dans ces problématiques à travers des formations internes de type "Comment appliquer le reflexe durable dans vos enseignements ? Prendre conscience des handicaps, Stress et management, etc. ".

Nos salariés sont également invités à s’investir dans du mécénat de compétences : chaque collaborateur à temps plein dispose de 5 jours par an pour partager et développer ses compétences et s’investir dans un projet de mécénat personnel ou professionnel.
L’Ecole collabore en ce sens avec  Pro Bono Lab Rhône-Alpes depuis 2013.

L’ensemble des actions que nous menons fait l’objet d’une démarche d’autoévaluation, de reporting et d’amélioration continue conformément au Grenelle de l’Environnement 2007 et aux directives du Référentiel du Plan Vert élaboré par la CGE et la CPU. Un reporting qui est également demandé dans le cadre de l’accréditation  EQUIS et du process Business Impact, en vue d’une labellisation « Campus Développement Durable/RSE » prochainement. 

En direct

Actualités